Recent News

Click on the News item for more information !!!

Ericdotes - A collection of stories in appreciation of Eric Robinson - geologist, polymath, raconteur.

AAPG Wallace Pratt Memorial Best Paper, co-authored with Tor Sømme, Erik Lundin and Bjørn Tørudbakken

Global Chief Scientist and Advisor to the Director at EGI Utah (July 2019).

Table-top geological tour of Texas with Erik Lundin (May 2019).

Lifetime Achievement Award from the Petroleum Group of the Geological Society (October 2017).

Cratonic basins — their origin and evolution.
Correspondence invited!

CLICK to read all my news

Tony Doré, Petroleum Geologist and Exploration Project Manager

Tony Doré was born in Derby, England.

He obtained his PhD from University College London and joined the petroleum industry in 1977. He held senior technical and leadership positions with Equinor (formerly Statoil) for 20 years, including VP Exploration Americas (2002-2008), VP North America (2008-2011) and Senior Advisor to Exploration Management (2012-2019).

Having retired from Equinor, he now holds the position of Global Chief Scientist with the Energy & Geoscience Institute (EGI) at the University of Utah.

He has worked petroleum provinces all over the world, with emphasis on NW Europe, the Arctic and the Americas. His achievements include major oil and gas discoveries in Norway, Brazil, Gulf of Mexico and Canada.

Tony has published on stratigraphy, NE Atlantic - Arctic evolution, basement reactivation, basin modelling, passive margin structure, hyperextension, exhumed petroleum systems and exploration risk analysis. He has edited books on basin modelling, resource quantification and passive margins.

He was Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Petroleum Geoscience between 2006 and 2009, and chairman of the Geological Society Petroleum Group 2001-2003; chaired the 2003 Petroleum Geology of NW Europe conference and edited the subsequent proceedings (2005).

Tony serves on the advisory boards of several universities and currently holds an Honorary Professorship at Durham University.

His awards include the Petroleum Group Medal (2006), Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2010 for services to geology, the AAPG Special Award, (2011), the William Smith Medal of the Geological Society (2015), Doctor of Science honoris causa Durham University (2016) and Lifetime Achievement Award from the Petroleum Group of the Geological Society, 2017